Poached Eggs : Domestic vs Professional

19 Mar

Yesterday, I had a lovely lunch with my friends at this small cool cafe at 50 Craig Road, The Plain. I love the ambience but maybe they could change the music they play, maybe?

Well, I ordered a flat white and darling’s eggs. Darling’s eggs is basically poached egg over a slice of sourdough toast with ham, cheese and roma tomatoes.

I’m so inspired by the tasty poached eggs that I have decided to my own version for breakfast this morning.

So this is the cafe version:

and… this is my version,tartar!

I’ve been attending foundation french cooking classes at Palate Sensation for the past 8 weeks and was taught to make eggs benedict aka poached eggs during one of the lessons.  The trick to making great poached egg is the vinegar in the boiling water. The acidity of the vinegar will help to breakdown the protein faster, thus cooking the eggs faster. This will prevent the egg from overcooking.

To make poached eggs, you need :

  • Good quality eggs (I would recommend using organic eggs)
  • Water and Vinegar, 1 cup of water to 1 tbl of  vinegar

Method :

1. Crack the egg into a bowl. I would not recommend cracking the egg over boiling water. Can very messy and may not give you the best looking poached egg.

2. Add vinegar to water and bring to a simmer. Before the water hit the boiling point, add the egg. Using a spoon and gently ‘gather’ the white together.


3. Scoop the egg with a perforated  laden.

4. Serve while hot

2 Responses to “Poached Eggs : Domestic vs Professional”

  1. Mein March 23, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Your home styled darling’s eggs looks better than the cafe one!!! So inspiring!

    • Constance March 23, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      Mein : I’m sure you guys can do it too!

Leave a Reply

